The Potential of Doing Good (TPDG)


Okay, now that is a totally made up terminology. Well, I believe that such a thing exists, so why shouldn’t I give it a name?

blog-nonprofits_do_well_by_doing_good

I believe that ‘Doing Good’ has two main types of people:-

  1. Who want to good.
  2. Who have the potential to do good (inborn ability).

Both of these can actually do good, but number 2 are always one step ahead from number 1. But in terms of consistency and progress, number 1 can leave number 2 behind. So, I want to belong to both the categories.

Now, you must be thinking that how can one have the potential to do good? I can answer this one because I have met one of the 2’s members. Number 2’s people do good without even trying to do good. They can find and help the needy and the weak wherever they go. They have a big heart and they are givers. They are honest, straightforward, and compassionate. They can feel your pain. They look for someone to help. These people are very jolly and playful. You rarely feel that you are burdening them with your problems. They always have a big smile on their face.

Number 1’s members are good people at heart, but they are shy from doing good to others. They find most people happy with their lives. They have trouble finding the needy ones. They try helping those who look encouragingly at them. These people do not help those helpless people who look rough and rude to them. These people are givers, but they are inquisitive and shy from helping others. They want to give, but they don’t know who to give and what to give.

If you are wondering which category do I belong to, I belong to Number 1. But, I have observed that in the last couple of weeks, I am acting like I am from category 2. I am beginning to notice those around me who need help. For the first time, I felt sorry and tried to help a weak kitten, even though I was afraid of it. For the first time, I smile with love and sympathy for those who are going through a rough time. For the first time, tragedy brings tears to my eyes.

As you all know that in the last 10-15 years there have been many terrorist attacks and suicide bombs in Pakistan. Due to listening about these events again and again, not only me, but also many others feel heartless to tragedy and pain. Tragedy does not bring tears in our eyes any more.

But now its changing for me. I can feel my heart beating again.

I am building up my potential to do good. What about you? Which category do you belong to?

help-others-quotes-6

Leave a Reply

