True Confidence Takes Much More Confidence


I have always regarded physical confidence as true confidence.  A person who express his or her ideas without fear, speaks freely in front of a large audience (without shaking hands and shaking voice), and communicates to others easily, was an ideal example of confidence for me. What other definition of confidence is there, right??? Well, let’s see what else in there that defines confidence.

word-cloud-e1416624085199

I didn’t knew that a shy person can be confident too. Well, I didn’t till someone told me that. It happened like this.

I was sitting outside my department with my friends. While we were talking, I took out my lunch box from my bag. My lunch typically consists of an omelette sandwich (I think that day I had this lunch). I took out the sandwich and began eating it. My friend, I saw, was observing me keenly. Her face was showing that she was amazed by something. She asked me that how do I do that. I was quite surprised by her  question. Then she told me that I am so confident. She told me how she had trouble eating from a lunch box in front other people, how she feels so shy among other. I replied that she was one of the most confident friends I know. Then I realized that I am confident in my  own way. 

images (1)

I may be very shy and afraid (I have overcome my fear to great extent), but I have confidence in my judgement. Actually I am quite indecisive,so lets make this as I am confident in my judgement of right and wrong. I have the confidence to say “Sorry, I do not know the answer.” I have the confidence to accept in front of others that I love to eat rice with my hands. That I feel that I have eaten nothing if I have eaten rice with spoon. I am confident in being me. In doing the right and accepting when I am wrong. I am confident in being myself. I may not be completely physically confident, but I  am self confident.

SL 2This brings us to another problem. What is the link between confidence and bravery?

Less well thought answer is that whoever is confident is brave.

More well thought answer is that a confident person may or may not be brave.

What??? How can a confident person not be brave??

Well, I can give you an example. A girl I know which I can call as the most confident girl was giving a presentation in the class. The topic was not of her field of study, but she delivered a fantastic presentation. I was highly impressed. She also asked questions from us. I would have given her 10/10 marks. Well, when the presentation ended,one of my class fellows wanted to ask a question from her. What she did??? She held out a finger to my friend, silencing her from asking any question, and said, “Don’t do this with me.”

giphy (5)

What do you think about think? At that moment all the impact of her presentation fell off and I thought that she is not brave, just confident. You will also meet many people that are confident, yet they lie. And as per my mother’s saying, people who lie are not brave enough to tell truth.

So, here’s the recipe of true confidence.

Physical confidence + Self confidence =  True confidence

So what I want to say is that true confidence encompasses physical confidence, self confidence, bravery, and so many other things. So, if you have one of these ingredients, strive to obtain the others too. Only when you’ll have all these ingredients you will be confident. Really and truly confident.

2 thoughts on “True Confidence Takes Much More Confidence

Leave a Reply

