Can our heart really think?


I was sitting in the class of the subject ‘Mysticism in Islam’ when my teacher told us that Mysticism is for achieving knowledge about God and achieving purity of soul. She defined soul as the heart. At that time my mind automatically switched to the thought that science says that heart can’t think. So I searched it on-line and found the following results!

imagesttyt

Researchers have discovered that not only can the cardiac field of one’s heart be measured several feet away from the body, but when humans touch or are in conversational proximity of each other, the heartbeat signals are registered in the other’s brainwaves. Thus our blood-pumping organ is now oftentimes referred to as the heart brain.

The heart is the most powerful organ generating five thousand times more electromagnetic signals than the brain. Some of the same neurotransmitters present in the brain, also found in the heart, establish their own neurochemical and electrochemical communications link. The heart translates information that is then communicated through its neurological impulses and makes its way to the brain to the medulla and up to higher centers of the brain where they can influence our cognitive processes such as how we make decisions and how we perceive reality.
Heart Resonance

For thousands of years, writers, philosophers and scholars have said that the soul resides in the heart, that the heart is the source of love, and that we feel with our heart. Paul Pearsall, PhD, states “Some of the greatest poems are written in an iambic pentameter that resembles the steady slow beat of a restful secure heart. Our most soothing music usually beats from about 70 to 80 tones per minute, replicating the natural rhythm of a healthy heart”. And is it not Aristotle who claimed that the true seat of the soul is in the heart.

Furthermore Pearsall tells of Moe Keale, a Hawaiian musician who says “Music is not something you just hear with your ears. It’s something you hear with your pu’uwai – your heart”. Dr. Pearsall states that the heart stores information and that the first embryonic cells are sound sensitive. He then explains that since sound carries information because it is energy, the heart communicates information throughout our body.

Transplantation examples

1. One of the most striking examples is that of an eight year old girl recipient of the heart of a ten year old girl who was murdered. Shortly after the transplant the recipient told her mother about a man who had killed the donor. The mother took the child to a psychiatrist who believed the girl and called the police. Using the girl’s descriptions of the weapon, the time, the clothes the murderer was wearing and the place, the police were able to find the murderer.

2. Here is another example! The donor was a three-year-old girl who drowned in the family pool. The recipient was a nine-year-old boy diagnosed with myocarditis and septal defect.
The recipient’s mother said:
“He [the recipient] doesn’t know who his donor was or how she died. We do. She drowned at her mother’s boyfriend’s house. Her mother and her boyfriend left her with a teenage babysitter who was on the phone when it happened. I never met her father, but the mother said they had a very ugly divorce and that the father never saw his daughter. She said she worked a lot of hours and wished she had spent more time with her. I think she feels pretty guilty about it all…you know, the both of them sort of not appreciating their daughter until it was too late.”

The recipient reported:
“I talk to her sometimes. I can feel her in there. She seems very sad. She is very afraid. I tell her it’s okay, but she is very afraid. She says she wishes that parents wouldn’t throw away their children. I don’t know why she would say that.”

3. The recipient’s mother:
“Well, the one thing I notice most is that Jimmy is now deathly afraid of the water. He loved it before. We live on a lake and he won’t go out in the backyard. He keeps closing and locking the back door. He says he’s afraid of the water and doesn’t know why. He won’t talk about it.”

The donor was a 16-month-old boy who drowned in a bathtub. The recipient was a seven-month-old boy diagnosed with tetralogy of Fallot (a hole in the ventricular septum with displacement of the aorta, pulmonary stenosis and thickening of the right ventricle).The donor’s mother, a physician, noted:
“The first thing is that I could more than hear Jerry’s [donor’s] heart. I could feel it in me. When Carter [the recipient] first saw me, he ran to me and pushed his nose against me and rubbed and rubbed it. It was just exactly what we did with Jerry. Jerry and Carter’s heart is five years old now, but Carter’s eyes were Jerry’s eyes. When he hugged me, I could feel my son. I mean I could feel him, not just symbolically. He was there. I felt his energy.
“I’m a doctor. I’m trained to be a keen observer and have always been a natural-born sceptic. But this was real. I know people will say that I need to believe my son’s spirit is alive, and perhaps I do. But I felt it. My husband and my father felt it. And I swear to you, and you can ask my mother, Carter said the same baby-talk words that Jerry said. Carter is six, but he was talking Jerry’s baby talk and playing with my nose just like Jerry did.
“We stayed with the … [recipient family] that night. In the middle of the night, Carter came in and asked to sleep with my husband and me. He cuddled up between us exactly like Jerry did, and we began to cry. Carter told us not to cry because Jerry said everything was okay. My husband and I, our parents and those who really knew Jerry have no doubt. Our son’s heart contains much of our son and beats in Carter’s chest. On some level, our son is still alive.”

The recipient’s mother reported:
“I saw Carter go to her [donor’s mother]. He never does that. He is very, very shy, but he went to her just like he used to run to me when he was a baby. When he whispered ‘It’s okay, mama’, I broke down. He called her ‘Mother’, or maybe it was Jerry’s heart talking. And one more thing that got to us. We found out talking to Jerry’s mom that Jerry had mild cerebral palsy mostly on his left side. Carter has stiffness and some shaking on that same side. He never did as a baby and it only showed up after the transplant. The doctors say it’s probably something to do with his medical condition, but I really think there’s more to it.”
“One more thing I’d like to know about. When we went to church together, Carter had never met Jerry’s father. We came late and Jerry’s dad was sitting with a group of people in the middle of the congregation. Carter let go of my hand and ran right to that man. He climbed on his lap, hugged him and said ‘Daddy’. We were flabbergasted. How could he have known him? Why did he call him dad? He never did things like that. He would never let go of my hand in church and never run to a stranger. When I asked him why he did it, he said he didn’t. He said Jerry did and he went with him.”
Source:http://appliedconsciousnessintl.com/science-of-the-heart-thinking-with-the-heart

http://www.ukapologetics.net/biblicalheart.htm

Leave a Reply

